Rate this item
(10 votes)

Office of the Dean, Faculty of Education and Social Sciences (FESS)


Kaimosi Friends University College (KAFUCO) was established in September 2014 with only one faculty: Faculty of Education and Social Sciences (FESS). The degree programmes offered in the regular module are Bachelor of Education (B.ED) Arts and Bachelor of Commerce (B.COM). The pioneer students completed first year in April 2015 and moved on to second year and completed in April 2016. The College then admitted the first cohort of school–based students in April 2015 for B.ED (Arts) and B.COM. They completed first year in April 2016 and will be starting second year in August 2016.

The University College also admitted students in the May in-take module in 2015. The programmes under which these students were admitted are:

  1. Diploma in Business Management
  2. Bachelor of Education Arts
  3. Bachelor of Commerce

The May 2015 intake group completed first year at the end of April 2016. Those taking B.ED (Arts) and B. Com are now in second year and completed first semester on 15th July (May 16th to July 15th). They started their second semester on 18th July which will end on 16th September 2016. This is an accelerated academic year.

It is grafting to note that the faculty has grown and during the academic year 2015/2016, the degree programmes for the regular module increased from two to four namely:

  1. Bachelor of Education Arts
  2. Bachelor of Commerce
  3. Bachelor of Social Work
  4. Bachelor of Criminology

In terms of number of students, the Faculty has approximately 600 hundred undergraduate students in the three modules (Regular, School-based and May in-take) and about 100 students taking certificate and diploma courses in Business Management and Social Work.

During the 2016/2017 academic year the faculty will receive from Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS) about 500 first year government sponsored students under the following degree programmes:

  1. Bachelor of Education (Arts)
  2. Bachelor of Education Science (Science)
  3. Bachelor of Education French (French)
  4. Bachelor of Commerce
  5. Bachelor of Criminology
  6. Bachelor of Social Work

In addition to government sponsored students, FESS will admit privately sponsored students (PSSP) in the above six degree programmes. These students will be taught in the integrated regular module. Also, the faculty will admit students taking certificate and diploma in Business Management and Social Work. Thus, the projected total number of students in the faculty will be over 1000.

It is important to note that in addition to the Faculty of Education and Social Sciences, there will be two additional faculties in 2016/2017 academic year namely:

  1. School of Business and Economics (SOBE)
  2. Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science will be receiving students from KUCCPS for the first time in September 2016. These students will be admitted in the following degree programmes:

  1. Bachelor of Science (Agricultural Economics and Resource Management)
  2. Bachelor of Disaster Management and International Diplomacy
  3. Bachelor of Science (Applied Statistics, with IT)
  4. Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
  5. Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Computer Science
  6. Bachelor of Science (Mathematics and Economics, with IT).


The Faculty of Education and Social Sciences (FESS) has the following academic staff:

1. O.M.J Nandi (PhD Religion)

He is a full Professor of Religion. He is the founding Principal of Kaimosi Friends University College. He has overseen the establishment and growth of KAFUCO from September 2014 up to date.

2. Amadalo Maurice Musasia (PhD Science Education)

He is an Associate Professor of Science Education and Instruction. He was the founding Dean Faculty of Education and Social Sciences. He oversaw the establishment of the faculty and guided the development of programmes in the Faculty of Education namely Social Work, Criminology, Commerce courses and Education Arts.

3. Eric Okwako (Ph.D English Language Education)

He is a Senior lecturer in the department of Languages and Social Sciences. He is the founding acting chairman of the department (September 2014 to March 2016) and currently acting Dean of the faculty (April 2016 – up to date)

4. Dina Were (Master of Education in Psychology)

She is a lecturer in Educational Psychology. She is the founding acting Chairperson department of Education. Her area of specialization is special needs education (SNE).

5. D. Okaka (Master of Business Administration)

He is a Senior Lecturer in Commerce. In charge of SOBE and University timetabling. He was in charge of Income Generating Activities. (IGU)

6. Joseph Otsyulah (Msc. Human Resource Management)

Lecturer in the department of commerce. In-charge of Marketing, Research and Linkages.


The faculty of Education and Social Sciences will undertake to train professionals that have both academic knowledge and professional skills in the various areas of specialization. This will be possible by creating linkages for field work and industrial attachment. I welcome you all to have a chance to study in this key faculty at Kaimosi Friends University College (KAFUCO).

Dr. Eric Okwako

Ag. Dean, School of Education and Social Sciences

Read 17457 times
More in this category: School of Science »

Contact Us

  • Tel:  0777373633
  • Email: principal@kafuco.ac.ke
  • Address: P.O BOX 385 - 50309, Kaimosi

Our Partners

Disclaimer!!!! It has come to the knowledge of the Kaimosi Friends University College...     Click for more information    Close  
DMC Firewall is developed by Dean Marshall Consultancy Ltd
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…